Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Get help with using EaseUS Todo Backup (for paid users). Please do not post problem of other software here.

Moderators: zhihui, EaseUS, Nvidia, Kenn

roma247
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:58 am
The number in the middle: 24

Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby roma247 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:06 am

I apologize if this question has been asked before; I tried searching the forum and couldn't find an answer.

After spending a week trying to clone my Windows 7 1 TB HDD to a larger drive unsuccessfully using Todo Backup, I was advised by Tech Support to try a sector-by-sector clone. So that's what I did.

It has now been running for over 14 hours and tells me it has 5 more hours left. :shock:

Ironic, since the reason I purchased this software in the first place is to speed up the cloning process! :roll:

My business e-mail is set up in Outlook on that computer only and I need to check it and do some other minor tasks. Today.

Question: can I do this while the clone process is running, or is that likely to cause yet another failure?

JEfromCanada
Patriarch Member
Patriarch Member
Posts: 2005
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:18 am
The number in the middle: 24
Contact:

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby JEfromCanada » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:01 am

You shouldn't be changing information on your drive while cloning. Using an email program would change data on your drive.

If you know your email address and password, you can use internet-based email services (such as mail2web.com) to access your email while your computer is out of commission. Do this from a DIFFERENT PC.

If you are going to use an online service, make sure you use the SECURE LOGIN feature.
EaseUS Todo Backup user - volunteer non-support forum moderator

User avatar
Syche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:45 pm
The number in the middle: 24

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby Syche » Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:58 pm

Dear roma247 ,
Thank you for contacting us.
We found that you contacted us via email on the same issue.
We've applied you by email.
Please kindly have a check.
Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
Syche
EaseUS Support Team
EaseUS Customer Support Center:
http://www.easeus.com/support.htm

Image

JEfromCanada
Patriarch Member
Patriarch Member
Posts: 2005
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:18 am
The number in the middle: 24
Contact:

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby JEfromCanada » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:39 am

Syche wrote:Dear roma247 ,
Thank you for contacting us.
We found that you contacted us via email on the same issue.
We've applied you by email.


I suggest to EaseUS employees that questions that can be answered in the forum without concern for exposing personal information would be more useful to other forum members.

There has been no definitive answer given to this question (my initial answer was based on my own assumptions, not intimate knowledge of the product).
EaseUS Todo Backup user - volunteer non-support forum moderator

User avatar
Syche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:45 pm
The number in the middle: 24

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby Syche » Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:20 pm

Dear JEfromCanada,

Thank you for your suggestion.

We've pasted the reply to the former user below for other users' reference.

Thank you for contacting us.

Checking email without much disk I/O would not affect the clone.

Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us.


When doing clone the EaseUS is able to handle data conflict through VSS service and if the change would not be too much, the clone should be successful even if the disk is sightly used.

Meanwhile, we would also recommend the process to be left without interruption if possible.
Syche
EaseUS Support Team
EaseUS Customer Support Center:
http://www.easeus.com/support.htm

Image

User avatar
garioch7
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:55 pm
The number in the middle: 24
Location: Port Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby garioch7 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:43 pm

I would just like to state that I fully agree with what JEfromCanada says. It is much more helpful to people visiting the Easeus Forums, if the answer is posted to the user, rather than emailed to that user. A substantial number of responses from your excellent staff to users is: "We have replied via email - please check your email." That doesn't help anybody else.

A major reason for these Forums is so that other users can get assistance with similar issues by searching their problem and finding posts from other users with similar issues, to whom the staff has responded with a solution.

Just my two cents. Thank you and have a great day.

Regards,
-Phil
Member of the Bleeping Computer Malware Response Team
Member of the Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators (U.N.I.T.E.)

User avatar
Gap
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 5:24 pm
The number in the middle: 24

Re: Can I use my PC while cloning with ETB?

Postby Gap » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:43 pm

Hi garioch7,

Thank you for your suggestion.

I will forward your suggestion to my supervisor after.

Sometimes, the different customers has the different hardware environment, so there would be the different solutions for different customers even they has the same issue.

However, we will try our best to provide the better service in future.

Thanks again for your suggestion :)
Gap
EaseUS Support Team
EaseUS Customer Support Center:
http://www.easeus.com/support.htm

Image


Return to “EaseUS Todo Backup (for paid users or pre-sales questions only)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests